Jim McKenna Medal

The Jim McKenna Medal is presented to the person adjudged as the fairest and best player in the First Grade competition.  In the 2009-10 season the points system was changed to points allocated by the umpires on a 3, 2 and 1 basis.


Season Player Club
2023-24 Haydan Morton East Fremantle
2022-23 Damian Leipold Piara Waters
2021-22 Damian Leipold
Mitchell Hind
SJ Blues
2020-21 Chad Forsyth Leeming Spartan
2019-20 Andrew Galbraith
Kodie McKrill
Leeming Spartan
2018-19 Andrew Galbraith
Jordan Armstrong
SJ Blues
2017-18 Andrew Galbraith CBC
2016-17 Todd Gill Leeming Spartan
2015-16 David Bandy CBC
2014-15 Marc Dodds Kardinya Lakes
2013-14 Rhys May Leeming Spartan
2012-13 Joel Crosswell Hilton Palmyra
2011-12 Craig Rourke Phoenix
2010-11 David Thomason Armadale
2009-10 Todd Lavender Leeming Spartan
2008-09 Rhys May CBC
2007-08 Allan Cheeseman Kelmscott
2006-07 Brad Oldroyd East Fremantle
2005-06 Mark Atkinson Leeming Spartan
2004-05 Brad Oldroyd East Fremantle
2003-04 Darren Rourke Phoenix
2002-03 Mark Elvidge Kelmscott
2001-02 Mark Elvidge Kelmscott
2000-01 Craig Rourke Phoenix
1999-00 Jason McNamara Kelmscott

Jim McKenna

Jim McKenna
Jim McKenna

Jim McKenna played many years for the Kenwick Cricket Club in the old SSCA competition. He played games in their first season,1949. His father, Bert McKenna, was the founder of the Kenwick Club and his brother Bob was the foundation secretary.

In the 1960's Jim became active in the SSCA serving in various positions on the Executive over the following 40 years. He is a Life Member of the Kenwick Cricket Club and the SSCA (now the SMCA). In 1996 Jim was the first President of the newly formed South Metropolitan Cricket Association.

Jim received a Sports Australia Medal for his services to cricket. He was a school teacher and at the time of his retirement was Western Australia's longest serving teacher. He was a keen traveller and a great lover of classical music.

After a long battle with skin cancer Jim passed away on 10th October 2003, the same day that Matthew Hayden scored his then world record test score of 380 at the WACA.